RSS

Cowboy Punch

02 Apr

Ok, I have to say this recipe has been around the family a few 100 times.  So I’m sure they won’t mind if I share it here.  If they do get upset, tell ’em you heard it here first! 😛

Now there are parties and then there are Cowboy Parties.  Cowboy parties, can and have been known to last for days.  Only stopping the fun to take care of the ranch chores and then returning to where you left off.  Now, IIIII would NEVER do something like that, but I have heard about it. 😛

Ok, Okay!  You caught me off guard and twisted my arm.  I admit, I have attended a few.  Haha… And thrown a few too!

Here is one of the drinks that has been served at a number of them.

I’m sure there are a number of variations to this drink recipe.  But, I’ve found, this one will have them bellying up to the bar for another round.  I’m very adament about collecting reins before any party.  So rest assured, the horses were safe in the barn the whole time!

I got this recipe from my Mom, Judy Lowery, just before I threw my first Cowboy Party.  Not that I had any doubts of its popularity, just that well, not everyone likes what I like.  Ya I know, huh!  No matter how I try, everyone seems to think they can like what they want, not what I think they should like.  😛

None the less, this beverage can be made with or without alcohol.  I’ve made it both ways and the little wranglers love it too.  From my point of view, that’s definitely a win/win.

Cowboy Punch

  • 2 cans (frozen) Orange Juice
  • 1 cup Pineapple Juice
  • 1/4 cup Maraschino Cherry (or Strawberry) Juice
  • 2 qts. Ginger ale
  • 3 trays Ice cubes

Blend all ingredients together except the ginger ale.  Pour over ice leaving enough room for the ginger ale.  So, depending on your taste, this will be a 50/50 mixture or 60/40 mixture.

Serves 12 glasses.

Helpful Hint

I have posted the virgin variety, this IS a PG blog ya know! 😛  But if you want to spice it up, you can add either Vodka, Tequilla, Canadian Mist, Bacardi Light or Jack Daniels (I recommend Vodka as there is no taste just the effect).  You will want to make it a 3:1 ratio (3 parts juice to 1 part alcohol).  Mix it all together then pour it over ice.

Another variation (since I’m not such a big fan of ginger ale) is to 7UP.  This still gives you the bubbly effect and to me tastes much better too 😀

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Cowboy Punch

Thanks for your comments.

 
