RSS

Wildman’s BBQ Sauce

06 Apr

Well, the time has come to share one of my ALL TIME FAVORITE recipes.  This is from my own recipe vault and was shared with me by a friend of the family, about 25 years ago.  We were throwing one of our very first Cowboy Parties and along with everything else, we were digging a pit big enough to bury a small army tank in!

We provided everything that anyone could ask for including the meat for the pit.  Which included bear, elk, and of course beef.   Being the first one I had ever planned, everyone was great in helping plan it out.  One contribution to the cause was this very bbq sauce recipe.

After the fanfare was over, it became known as one of the best “Cowboy Pit Parties” ever thrown!   Now, that’s what I like to hear!! 😀  Having said that, I want you to know I pondered sharing this for quite some time.  As it has become a signature bbq sauce for me.  But I figured oh, what the heck!  So here it is…

It doesn’t matter how you plan on using this.  A brush on or a marinade, it’s a guaranteed party pleaser.  It stores well in the refrigerator too.  I never had it around long enough to see how well it freezes, but I would think that it would do well there too.

Wildman’s BBQ Sauce

  • 1 medium Onion, chopped
  • 2 tbl. Butter
  • 2 tbl. Vinegar
  • 2 tbl. Brown Sugar
  • 4 tbl. Lemon Juice
  • 1 cup Catsup
  • 3 tbl. Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1/2 tbl. Prepared Mustard
  • 1/2 cup Water
  • 1/2 cup Parsley, chopped
  • Salt
  • Cayenne Pepper

Brown onion in butter, add remaining ingredients.  Simmer for 30 minutes.  Place in a mason jar for storing purposes.  (I generally triple the recipe and use an antique whiskey jug I have on hand.)

Yes, it’s that good, and it goes that fast! 😀

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thanks for your comments.

 
