RSS

DIY Raised Garden Beds

08 May
DIY Raised Garden Beds

The time has come to share some of what we’ve been doing …

The temperatures here still seem to dip below freezing at night.  And our little sprouts are ready to be planted.  But they will fair far better in our mudroom than outside in the cold cold night air.  As we wait for the temperatures to rise so we can plant our little gems of goodness, we still have plenty of work ahead of us preparing the gardens.

This year we’ve chosen to do raised beds.  As the collector of fine junk and the purveyor of needless necessities, I have just such an item to meet the needs of these projects.

Once we decided where the garden should be this year, production got underway rather quickly.  As we have two large compost piles with a combination of humus and horse manure, I’m using a 50/50 mix this year of horse manure compost and good ol’ fashioned dirt. 

I endlessly collect pallets.  We use them to stack the hay on, so it’s not really a needless necessity, but I do have plenty to spare for this project (and probably several others too).  I’ve also toiled at collecting telephone poles and railroad ties.  For this project I chose telephone poles.  I also have some smaller pieces of rebar that I keep on hand for.. Hmm.  Well I can’t remember the reason I got them, but we’ll use them now.  So it doesn’t matter. 😛

I would say this is a wonderful way to repurpose everything.  So far I’m 4 for 4. (compost, pallets, poles, rebar)  I haven’t even begun the project and I’m already into it $0.00 .  I’m liking this so far.  How ’bout you?

Wait!  Should I count the cost of feed for the horses?  Or, the diesel for the tractor?  Nah, too complicated, stock still needs to eat and tractor needs fuel whether it got used for this project or not.  So we’ll stick with the  -0- cost so far.

I need to get the rows and hills ready for planting while we’re waiting for warmer weather so we can plant.  But, here is the first pictures in the series of DIY raised garden beds.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here you can see hubby and Way getting poles over to where the garden was going to be.  It should be nice and shaded when the afternoon sun comes around.  A nice choice I must say for the border.  The telephone poles had several holes to choose from, so here you see hubby hammering in the rebar to keep the poles in place.  The tractor made short order of filling the beds.  And Way is making sure there’s no rocks in the garden.

After we were done playing with the raised garden beds, I snapped a quick picture of Way on the tractor, then I was off to play with one of the horses.  Now, I didn’t know these pictures were on my camera until I went to upload them on the computer.  Here is a rare photo of me (not behind the camera) doing what I like doing the most (next to spending time with my family)… spending time with one of my horse, Duece.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “DIY Raised Garden Beds

  1. Sung Quam

    June 14, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that.

     

Thanks for your comments.

 
