RSS

Peanut Butter Dog Bone Dog Treats

01 Sep
Peanut Butter Dog Bone Dog Treats

I love cooking, baking and making things with my own two hands.  Animal treats are of no exception.  I was going through the store one day, and came across these cute little “doggie bone” cookie cutters.  They come in small, medium, and large and a variety of colors.  I of course, took one of each color, and size.  (Don’t ask me which store, I’ve been making them for 25 years, and that’s too long ago to remember.)

Now this winter was a long one, and cabin fever was setting in pretty good.  I could curl up with a good book (or my laptop lol) and be good to go.  But kids are a different matter.  So we took to task making these irresistible treats.  I’ve never seen dogs go crazy over a treat, but these will surely make them stand on their heads!

Here is the ingredients you’ll need.

Hmm, my recipe calls for something… well… completely different than what I have in the pantry. :/  So let’s revamp this puppy (pardon the pun) and make it work for us, and this post. (Give me a sec!)

Ok, with all my alterations in order, let’s get crackin’.  I’ve taken pictures during the process, so that you could see size, consistency and what they will look like when you’re all done.  (And, as always, I will put the recipe at the end of the post with complete directions included.)

Yes, you read it right.
Bisquik! Peanut Butter and Whole Milk.

(I choose crunchy, gives them something to really sink their teeth into. lol)

Put it all in a bowl, mix thoroughly.
You’re wanting a bread dough consistency.

After you’ve mixed it thoroughly, turn it out onto a floured surface and finish by kneading it.
(like you would bread dough)

Finish the kneading process, by hand pressing it to about what you see here.
I use an Italian Marble rolling pin, it’s very heavy, and makes short order of rolling this out to about 1/4″ thickness.

Next, have a cute, cabin fever crazed little boy, cut out the dog treats with, of course,
those colorful dog bone shaped cookie cutters.

I have to add here, that I didn’t take a picture of him greasing the pan, putting them on the cookie sheet, or of him putting them in the oven.  Seemed to me they were just too boring, laying there waiting to be baked.  So I spared ya that one!  (However, I would like to let you know, the house did smell like we were baking Peanut Butter Cookies!  Mmm.)

We cooked these for about 8 minutes at 400° .
TADA!!!!
Irresistable Peanut Butter Dog Bone Dog Treats

Thanks for sticking around to the end.  Here’s the recipe and directions to make these yourself.  Share this with your firends and let me know how it worked for you.

Irresistable Peanut Butter Dog Bone Dog Treats

  • 2 cups Bisquick
  • 1 cup Peanut Butter (creamy or crunchy – your preference)
  • 3/4 cup Whole MIlk
  • Flour (I used Bisquick to flour the surface, and it worked fine for that too)

Place all ingredients in large mixing bowl.  Mix until well blended, and reaches a bread dough consistency.  Turn out onto flour surface, and knead not more than 5 turns.  Hand press to about 1″ all around.  Roll out the dough to about 1/4″ thickness.  Use cookie cutters (of your choice) and cut out the shapes you’d like to make for these treats.  Place on greased cookie sheet, and place in 400° oven for about 8 minutes.  These burn easily, so check often to make sure they have reached a golden brown.   Makes 2 dozen treats.

If you prefer a longer bake time, lower the oven temperature.

I have also put oatmeal and/or applesauce into the mix as well.  Feel free to alter it to your liking.  If you don’t have Bisquick on hand, here’s my recipe  for that from a prior post I made.

Enjoy!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Country Cookin', Unusual

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Peanut Butter Dog Bone Dog Treats

  1. Ruth Neilson

    December 10, 2017 at 8:01 am

    Can this recipe be made with Gluten Free Bisquick?

     

Thanks for your comments.

 
